Brand Lab II

Resources


Course Resources

Creative Process Phases [61KB]
Brand Process Diagram [540KB]

Recommended Links

Winter 2010 Brand Lab I class website
rebecamendezdesign.com

Reading Materials

Required:

Writing Los Angeles: A Literary Anthology. Edited by David L. Ulin
Design Research: Methods and Perspectives. By Brenda Laurel (Editor), Peter Lunenfeld (Preface)

Recommended:

The History of Forgetting: Los Angeles and the Erasure of Memory. By Norman M. Klein

Professor Rebeca MéNDEZ' Book List:

Relevant to Spring 2010 class project:

Designing Pornotopia: Travels in Visual Culture. By Rick Poynor
No Logo. By Naomi Klein. Published by Macmillan
The Shock Doctrine. By Naomi Klein
Obey The Giant: Life in The Image World. By Rick Poynor
Massive Change: A Manifesto for the Future Global Design Culture. By Bruce Mau. Phaidon Publishers. 2005
Brand Hijack: Marketing Without Marketing. By Alex Wipperfurth
The Brand Gap: How to Bridge the Distance Between Business Strategy and Design. By Marty Neumeier
The Dictionary of Brand. By Marty Neumeier
Brand Aid. By Michael Sorkin
Design Studies: Theory and Research in Graphic Design (A Reader). By Audrey Bennett, Editor. Princeton Architectural Press
In the Bubble: Designing in a Complex World. By John Thackara
Communities Dominate Brands. By Tomi T. Ahonen and Alan Moore
Design beyond Design: Critical Reflection and the Practice of Visual Communication. By Jan Van Toorn
Mythologies. By Roland Barthes
Iron Fists: Branding the 20th-Century Totalitarian State. By Steven Heller. Phaidon. 2008
Innovation X: Why a Company's Toughest Problems Are Its Greatest Advantage. By Adam Richardson. Jossey-Bass. 2010

Others:

User: InfoTechnoDemo. By Peter Lunenfeld
Mobile Minded. By NL Design
Looking Closer: Critical Writings on Graphic Design 1-5. By Michael Beirut, Jessica Helfand, Steven Heller, William Drentell, and Rick Poynor. Allworth Press.
Citizen Designer: Perspectives on Design Responsibility. By Steven Heller and Veronique Vienne
Theory and Design in the First Machine Age. By Reyner Banham. MIT Press.
Manufacturing Consent: Political Economy of the Mass Media. By Edward S. Herman and Noam Chomsky
Design Writing Research: Writing on Graphic Design. By Ellen Lupton and Abbot Miller.
Shaping Things. By Bruce Sterling. MIT Press. 2005
Hiding. By Mark C. Taylor
Convergence Culture: Where Old and New Media Collide. By Henry Jenkins. NYU Press. 2006
Herzian Tales: Electronic Products, Aesthetic Experience and Critical Design. By Anthony Dunne
Everyware: Dawning of the Age of Ubiquitous Computing. By Adam Greenfield
ME++: Cyborg Self and the Networked City. By William Mitchell
Smart Mobs. By Howard Rheingold
Pattern Recognition. By William Gibson
The System of Objects. By Jean Baudrillard
The Experience Economy: Work Is Theatre and Every Business a Stage. By B. Joseph Pine II and James H. Gilmore. Harvard Business School Press. 1999
Content. By Rem Koolhaas
How to have a number 1 the easy way. By Bill Drummond
How To Be A Graphic Designer Without Losing Your Soul. By Adrian Shaughnessy
The World Must Change: Graphic Design and Idealism. By Leonie ten Duis and Annelies Haase, Sandberg Instituut Publication.
Influences: A Lexicon of Contemporary Graphic Design Practice. By Anja Lutz, Anna Gerber, H Hellinge Klanten
In Praise of Shadows. By Jun'ichiro Tanizaki
The Singularity is Near. By Ray Kurzweil
The Age of Spiritual Machines. By Ray Kurzweil
1000 Years of Non-linear History. By Manuel De Landa. Zone Books
History Out of Joint. By Sande Cohen
Writing Machines. By Katherine Hales
How We Became Posthuman: Virtual Bodies in Cybernetics, Literature, and Informatics. By Katherine Hayles
My Mother Was a Computer: Digital Subjects and Literary Texts. By Katherine Hayles. University of Chicago Press. 2005

Professor MéNDEZ' Recommended Photographers:

Doug Aitken www.dougaitkenworkshop.com
Olivia Beasley www.oliviabeasley.com
Michael Danner www.michaeldanner.com
Robert Delahanty www.robertdelahanty.net
Florian Geiss www.floriangeiss.com
Philip Lee Harvey www.philipleeharvey.com
Bernd Hoff www.berndhoff.de
Nadav Kander www.nadavkander.com
Henrik Knudsen www.henrikknudsen.com
Hakan Ludwigson www.ludwigson.net
Jo Magrean jomagrean.com
Stefan Ruiz www.stefanruiz.com
Derrick Santini www.derricksantini.com
Pete Seaward www.peteseaward.com
David Spero www.davidspero.co.uk
Daniel Steir www.danielstier.com
Brian Stewart www.brianstewartphotography.com
Wolfgang Tilmans www.tillmans.co.uk
Kai Weichmann www.kaiwiechmann.com