UCLA Design | Media Arts



DEADLINES

Jan 9 - Assignment 1 - Form Game Object
Jan 11 - Assignment 2 - Model Homework
Jan 16 - Assignment 3 - vector file
Jan 18 - Assignment 4 - Project I proposal
Feb 1 - Assignment 5 - surface shape or stacked shape
Feb 6 - Assignment 6 - 3D models
Feb 6 - Assignment 7 - Documentation of Project I
Feb 6 - Assignment 8 - Project II proposal
Feb 22 - Assignment 9 - 3D model revised
Feb 27 Assignment 10 - Documentation of Project II
Feb 27 Assignment 11 - Project III proposal presentations

Finals week - Final Assignment - Documentation of Project III


Jan 30 - Project I - Vessel / Receptacle Project
Feb 20 - Project II - Machine Process Project
March 15 - Project III - Interactive / Performative Object Project


COURSE SCHEDULE

This schedule is subject to changes. It will be updated online and I will notify you of dramatic differences in class and, if necessary, via reminder emails.

WEEK 1

Tues Jan 9

Syllabus / Intro to Form, Tour, Form Game
DUE: ASSIGNMENT 1

Thurs Jan 11

Shop Safety training
DUE: ASSIGNMENT 2: model homework mini crit
Concepts in Digital —> Physical construction / CAD CAM
Intro to Laser cutter, Slicer for 360
Laser Cutter demo

WEEK 2

Tues Jan 16

DUE: ASSIGNMENT 3: VECTOR FILE
Power Tool / Drill / Drill press training
How does 3D modeling relate to Power drills? Introduction to modeling, Maya
Intro to Project 1 - Due on Tues Jan 30

Thurs Jan 18

DUE: ASSIGNMENT 4: plans for Project I, work time / discussion
Saw Training (scroll, table, miter, panel)
Maya continued

WEEK 3

Tues Jan 23

30 min - sanding / rotary tool
Work time - Project I (troubleshooting and shop time)
Maya continued

Thurs Jan 25

Work time for Project I
Maya help (work time for Assignment 5 - 3D model)

WEEK 4

Tues Jan 30

DUE / CRIT - Project I
Documentation in shoot room

Thurs Feb 1

Maya, Fusion 360, and Slicer
Work time for Assignment 6 - 3D model
Due by end of class - Assignment 5: Surface shape or Stacked shape
Intro to Project II - Due Feb 20

WEEK 5

Tues Feb 6

DUE: Assignment 6 - 3D model, Proposal for Project II, Project I Documentation
Machine Process examples lecture, Solid vs. Surface construction techniques, pattern making

Thurs Feb 8

CNC 3D cutting demo - 2 groups
Surface and solid construction techniques and concepts continued
Work time on Project II, document all processes

WEEK 6

Tues Feb 13

Work time on Project II, document all processes

Thurs Feb 15

Work time on Project II, document all processes

WEEK 7

Tues Feb 20

DUE: PROJECT II
Intro to Final Project - Interactive / Performative Object, Due Mar 15

Thurs Feb 22

Work time: continue Maya techniques, Revised 3D model due by end of class
Intro to CURA, 3D printing demo (groups)
Interactive / Performative Object Lecture and Examples, Media theory

WEEK 8

Tues Feb 27

DUE: Documentation of Project II, Proposal presentations for Project III
Proposal presentations
Work time for Final Project

Thurs Mar 1

Work time for Final Project

WEEK 9

Tues Mar 6

Work time for Final Project

Thurs Mar 8

Work time for Final Project

WEEK 10

Tues Mar 13

Work time for Final Project

Thurs Mar 15

DUE: PROJECT 3 CRITIQUE


Your final exam is Excellent documentation of Project 3 with title and description.